Posted by: bshelley | July 20, 2009

Speech with Grace

conversation 2

Today’s Verse: Colossians 4:6 Let your speech always be with grace, as though seasoned with salt, so that you will know how you should respond to each person. NASB

It is unfortunately quite often that my first reaction to things is not my most noble or Christ like. If I do not take time to let my speech be seasoned with salt (that is with the covenant, Lev 2:13) I come off rather clipped or dogmatic. That’s not who I want to be, but in that instant between what someone says to me and my response there needs to be more time waited to avoid the temptation of a harsh response. This is especially dangerous if I let myself feel on the defensive. If I think I am being attacked, the temptation to volley back is almost overwhelming. I say almost because I know God gives us an out when we are tempted. That requires a pause and the involvement of God’s Spirit. The idea of grace is to show favor. We are to show favor towards those we speak to because we are God’s covenant people. People watch to see how we react and even test us at times. Ours is to pause and let God be involved before we react. We need something akin to “stop, drop and roll” for talking. If we pause and let God put a little salt on our tongues before we respond, it will always go better.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Leave a Reply

Categories

