Posted by: bshelley | July 9, 2009

Priority Check

expedition

Today’s Verse: Psalm 73:25 Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. NASB

Such powerful words of praise! After working on preparing a memorial service for a while today, this really hit me. At the time of passing it is often a time of reflection for us all. I think often of loved ones who have gone ahead of me and long for the days when we are reunited. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that, but after reading the first half of this verse it is obvious it may be time for a priority check. It is true that I desire to see the Father more than anything, but I can get distracted. Certainly I can be all too easily distracted in the here and now of everyday life on this earth. I have to resist desires for worldly things every day. I don’t necessarily want another engine for my ’98 Expedition. I want a new truck. There are many things that pull my attention away from what the psalmist points to which is so much more pure. Can I truly say that I desire nothing other than Him on earth? I desire to be that pure, but it is not true of me all too often. I am glad that I found this verse today…or better put, that this verse found me. Lord it is my heart’s desire to be able to claim no desire for anything on earth but You. Thank you for your patience with me. Please continue to mold me and make me into the likeness of  Him. AMEN

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Oh this is so amazing! May we just go straight to Him and seek HIM everyday. Just HIM! Him above everything else even our very own selves.

    Praise God for your post! You’re a blessed man indeed!

  2. Amen, indeed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

