Posted by: bshelley | July 2, 2009

Tents

tent

Today’s Verse: 2 Corinthians 5:1 For we know that if the earthly tent which is now our house is torn down, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. NASB

Ever heard the phrase, “I’m just going to take down my tent and go home”? I feel that way sometimes. Oh not really, but I can identify with the next verse where it talks of groaning and longing. We have a ways to go in this life. Sometimes the path is smooth and downhill and at other times it is rugged and headed uphill. Scripture tells us that we  can have joy in both even if we are uncomfortable and mumble to ourselves of aches and pains. I find that after fifty the aches are much less from too much exercise and more from lack of it. For instance, I used to think those chairs that help you stand up were stupid. I tried my mom’s out while I was in Texas last month and it actually was a lot easier to get up. I hate when that happens. Well, whether your tent still smells like new or has a few gashes and tears in it from wear, we can all know that what comes just beyond this is much better. Our eternal bodies do not hunger, ache or get sick. Regardless of the shape your trade in is in, you get a brand new one that never gets old any more. What a deal. For now, I’ll sew on a few more patches and dream of a new one!

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Leave a Reply

Categories

