Posted by: bshelley | July 1, 2009

Blameless with great joy

stumble

Today’s Verse: Jude 24 Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to make you stand in the presence of His glory blameless with great joy. NASB

Our granddaughter loves to run through the house. It is a jot to see her so free and full of joy. Unfortunately, she also likes to wear shoes that are too big for her little feet. As a result she has a tendency to stumble and crash quite often. When we stumble spiritually, there are some obvious comparisons. What powerful words in this verse! God is indeed able to keep us from stumbling. Yes, even after we are saved, we have a propensity to still stumble on occasion(s). That is an undeniable fact. However, we need not. If we would simply go before the Father before we walk into the range of temptation, what a difference that would make. Do you believe God can keep you from stumbling? If we followed Jesus’ example we would pray the night before for strength, wisdom and guidance fro God. If we did this we would likely stumble less. Having made the decision to follow God’s way in advance makes the doing easier. Look what we get as a reward. We stand in His presence blameless and with great joy. Wow, what a picture! Jesus died for our sins. Jesus lived to set a righteous example for living. Thank you Lord for both for we need them both every day.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Beautiful! We learn a lot from the ‘little’ ones. Good comparison. Thank you for saying ‘ we need not (stumble).’ God is stripped of His power and soveriegnty when we insist that Christians ‘can’t keep from practicing sin.’ I’ve thought a lot recently on the scripture..’you are tempted AFTER you are drawn by your own lust…and enticed.’ We DO have a choice…in each and every situation. And He promised, ‘I’ll make a way to escape.’ In todays world, God needs laborers in the fields (harvest) before the harvest is lost. We have a precious Father who, as you said, wants to help us to not stumble. Stumbling is painful….leaves scrapes and scars.

    Again, good post.

    I am internetelias.wordpress.com

  2. It was nice to hear from you, Bryan. It sounds like you are doing well?

    Look what we get as a reward. We stand in His presence blameless and with great joy.

    That is awesome! I have noticed that, when I am seeking only to please God that I do feel as if I am blameless in His presence! How amazing is that, the we sinful creatures could stand blameless in His presence?? Of course, I know that is only through faith in Jesus’ sacrifice for us.

    God showed me another verse like this, “It is God who…makes my way perfect…Your right hand sustains me; You stoop down to make me great. You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn.” Psa. 18:33-36

    Aren’t those amazing verses too?! Thanks for your message today. What an encouragement to me! Blessings, Bryan! 🙂

  3. Amen! God in fact gives us door of way out so we stand up under any temptation.

    When we are discouraged and helpless, he also is there to Carry us through. Praise the Lord!

  4. One of my toughest experiences was when my younger child was about 13 months old. We visited my mother-in-law, and she had hardwood floors in her house. My son had been walking since about 9 months, but with the new house and new layout and everything, he wasn’t so stable. He would often trip, and one time in particular he stumbled over the transition strip between the hardwood living room and the tile kitchen floor. Wham! Down onto his face, where his tooth went right through his bottom lip. He was shocked and upset and in pain, and so was I!

    I know it sounds trite, but I have learned a lot about my own relationship with God since becoming a parent. And seeing my child trip and hurt himself (and really, any time I see my kids make a mistake that could have been avoided or by being hurt physically or emotionally) made me realize that God loves us so much that our mistakes and stumbles cause Him pain too. So when we are tempted to sin due to our own natures, because we love God, do we consider how much we hurt Him when we choose to sin?


Leave a Reply

Categories

