Posted by: bshelley | June 23, 2009

Sing praises to the Lord

singing 2

Today’s Verse: Psalm 147:1 Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God; For it is pleasant and praise is becoming. NASB

In the midst of trying to hit the right notes and get the words correct of church hymns, I find it easy to lose sight that I am supposed to be worshipping. I like praise choruses better for that reason. They typically are on PowerPoint and do not have notes. You just sing the melody or simple harmonies with everyone. It is a challenge since many of the older members, and some not so old, like to sing the oldies. It seems as if some of the song leaders do not want to sing anything written after 1642. This may be why I struggle with the wording sometimes. We certainly have to find balance. A proper worship service also must be crafted. There is a giftedness bestowed on those wonderful few who have the God given ability to lead us into praise and meaningful worship. There are some choruses that literally bring me to tears every time. Not that this is requisite, but for me it signals my heart’s involvement in what I am doing. It happens in my preaching as well. Heart felt messages have me tearful every time. It is ultimately my responsibility to bring praise and worship to the Lord. I pray that I will find myself more often moved to tears and less often to criticism that someone else is not “doing it right”. I must get my heart right first and no one can help with that except Christ Jesus.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Leave a Reply

Categories

