Posted by: bshelley | June 22, 2009

Pray and do not lose heart

TreeofHope

Today’s Verse: Luke 18:1 Now He was telling them a parable to show that at all times they ought to pray and not to lose heart. NASB

It is pretty easy to pray and not lose heart in the short term. It is in the long haul of a prolonged illness or trying circumstance where heart and persistence sometimes evade us. I can assure you that there are indeed times in my ongoing struggle with cancer that there are moments that sometimes turn into days when I just run out of spiritual steam. I just get tired of being tired. Maybe you have experienced the same thing with job burnout or being in some trying circumstance for seemingly forever. It becomes harder and harder to “keep a stiff upper lip” or whatever you want to label the toughness and rugged persistence we would like to model to others. Good news is that God knows all about that. He certainly knows our heart and our circumstance. Here is Jesus’ answer to just such failure of strength. He says, ” pray”. God promises to give us wisdom and strength in a measure equal to any circumstance we find ourselves in. We must however seek Him and His strength in prayer. Maybe we run out of gas when we neglect time with Him? So, in all this there is a promise as well. If we pray at all times He will help us to not lose heart. For then we will have the assurance of knowing He is at our side all the way.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Dear ANYONE,
    I know you dont know me but i need your help. Well. I lost my faith in god a few months ago… like 7-10 months ago… and it got worse for me a few months ago when i was raped…I have been raped 4 times…. in the last 10 yrs. I have a bible. I know how to read but i need that connection to gods PEOPLE. and you are one of them, so i am asking you to help me… and find others to help me secure a relationship with Jesus Christ. I need it … I need HIM….Did god change his cell phone number becuase i cant seem to get through. Seeking your help. You and anyone willing to help me can send me e mails at who.mi2u@hotmail.com
    I am in desprate need of god in my life expecially right now. and i am to ashamed in myself to seek counsel from a local church. So help me or find me someone who can PLEASE i beg you. Beth. who.mi2u@hotmail.com

  2. Beth, your story touches all our hearts. You are certainly seeking the right refuge for your life when you seek to know God better in Christ Jesus. I would certainly suggest that you get involved in a local Christian church and let that put you in the care of a community of loving people. Don’t give up. Secondly, if you would like to study the Bible in an organized and easy to understand way I suggest you go to World Bible School online. I am an online study helper and they might even send you to me if you ask for Bryan Shelley. Regardless, a understanding of God’s healing and forgiveness is crucial for you at this time along with a relationship with a good church family. The web address for WBS is http://www.wbschool.org/.


Leave a Reply

Categories

