Posted by: bshelley | June 10, 2009

Must be diligent

hammock

Today’s Verse: Jeremiah 48:10 Cursed be the one who does the Lord’s work negligently, and cursed be the one who restrains his sword from blood. NASB

As a preacher, these sorts of verses haunt me. In preaching school we were reminded again and again how we were to never enter the pulpit unprepared. As a spokesperson for God himself, that would be the worst kind of negligence. But it starts even before that. Daily spiritual disciplines of prayer and Bible reading are necessary to have the Lord’s presence and word in our hearts and minds. When we fail to do those things it is no wonder that other disciplines and works at hand go untended. One can appear ever so attentive and busy and yet not be about the very things we know we are called to as His servants. I was reminded of that fact this morning. A member called and wanted to know if we could go and visit a couple of the elderly members of the church this afternoon with him. I said that would be good following a Bible study I do at a local Rehab Center at 2. In reality, I mentally stuttered because of the chemo this week my ability to focus and even muster the energy to do such things is often a stretch for me. I really hate that because I am usually more like a workaholic than a slacker. I know I will be blessed because I am used by Him for these seemingly small things. I also know that these are the matters that make the difference between a scholarly minister and a servant minister. I strive to be the best combination of both under the circumstances and ask for your prayers for renewed strength. Maybe you find yourself in the same place for a variety of reasons now and again. I pray God lifts you up and keeps your path straight and your serve without neglect.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Leave a Reply

Categories

