Posted by: bshelley | May 12, 2009

Soak Time?

 sponge

Today’s Verse: John 2:20 The Jews then said, “It took forty-six years to build this temple, and will you raise it up in three days?” NASB

There has been a cable commercial on for the past few days on TV. It features Shaq and Ben Stein taking about the virtues of whatever they were trying to sell. At the end, Shaq and Ben are walking off and Shaq makes the comment something like, “I want to make a movie and we’ll call it Shaq-en-stein.” Ben Stein responds, “I like it!” I had seen this several times in the past week and last night, I finally got the joke. It had totally alluded my to that point and then I just felt dull. Normally I see humor in almost everything. My wife is constantly punning, albeit unintentional, it is funny stuff and I laugh. I turned to her last night and told her I had just understood the joke in the commercial. She looked at me like no doubt I look at her when she misses a punch line. She had “gotten it” the first time but didn’t think it was funny. Jesus had just told these Jews that if they destroyed “this” temple, He would raise it up in three days. He was talking about His body. They totally missed the point. A favorite preaching instructor in school said that we would likely have to “give the same sermon five times before they all get it.” He said, “Don’t worry, all you have to do is hit the pulpit in a different place each time  and they’ll think it is a different sermon anyway.” Sometimes it takes a little “soak time” for us to “get it”. That’s maybe why we are told to “meditate” on the scriptures daily, not just speed read through them.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. You’re so right. In fact, even though i have read a verse a million times already, the next time I read it it tells me a differnt thing again. indeed the Bible is a treasure chest or a box of chocolates: you never know what you will get.

    P.S. I didn’t understand the commercial. LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

