Posted by: bshelley | May 4, 2009

Some Sneered

frown

Today’s Verse: Acts 17:32 Now when they heard of the resurrection of the dead, some began to sneer, but others said, “We shall hear you again concerning this.” NASB

What lies beyond this life is not something many people want to think about because of its relationship to mortality. It is as if they don’t think about it, maybe it will go away. My granddaughter thinks when she hides her head under a cushion that if she cannot see us, we cannot see her. OK, so we egg that on a bit by playing along. That’s kinda fun while she is little. Now if she kept believing that after she grows older, that might be an indicator of some problems or at the very least an odd bit of denial of the facts. The fact is that we die. So why is it so hard to get people to talk about what comes after death? Paul, in his famous sermon on Mars Hill in Athens, got mixed results. Some said they would like to hear more, but others sneered at the thought that there was anything beyond this life. I am convinced that if people can accept their mortality in a candid and mature way that they are much more open to what might lie beyond. I don’t fear death. To be honest, I am pain avoidant and I have asked God that if it would be OK, I’d like to go peacefully in my sleep. We’ll see about that one, but I don’t have a fear of death or certainly what lies beyond because I know. Our bodies return to the dust and our spirits return to Him that made us (Ecc. 12:7). If you sneer, ask yourself why. If you smile at the prospect, the assurance of life beyond, then you understand. Thank God today for His assurance.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. I am assured of my salvation and just like Paul to die is gain. but unlike you i’m afraid to die. i’m afraid coz I want to reach out my family and my relatives first before I do. They’re not Christians yet and I’m afraid to go without knowing that they’ll go with me. But still I praise the Lord for the assurance and I just pray that this assurance is transferred to my family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

