Posted by: bshelley | April 24, 2009

“It is what it is”

hands-dove-lightening

Today’s Verse: Exodus 3:14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM”; and He said, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” NASB

A while back I worked for a Scottish firm that did flat panel display repair for many of the big name computer manufacturers. I often annoyed them on conference calls by trying my hand at a Scottish accent. I was certain I sounded just like Sean Connery. They said it sounded more like the Lucky Charms guy and he was Irish! When some new business setback would occur at the facility their response was typically, “It is what it is.” In other words, let’s not fret over what happened but press ahead to how do we get back on track. It was an interesting approach since I had experienced several companies who wanted to play the blame game for a while before moving on to a solution. One of the Seeking God’s Heart  devotional readers sent me an encouraging response that gave me the idea for today’s thought. Often when we are struggling with a new problem or setback, we want to play the “Why me” game. It is very tempting. At some point you have to come to the conclusion that, “It is what it is.” Then you can move forward. Today’s verse, and our friend Donna, remind us that there is an even higher way of looking at these situations and struggles. God is beside us and even in front of us in all our life’s challenges. We always have hope because, “He is who He is.”

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Praise the Lord for He is who he says He is. He doesn’t change. He said He will save us, he did. Praise him all the more.

    Great perspective as well in accepting things as they are but on the other hand we need to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit because it might the working of the enemy and letting it is being defeated. pray and seek God always and then let it be accdng to His will!


Leave a Reply

Categories

