Posted by: bshelley | April 9, 2009

I shall not want

 sheep-hill-1

 

Today’s Verse: Psalm 23:1 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. NASB

When King David wrote this he had experienced some of life’s most difficult trials. He was chased all over the region not only by Saul and his troops, but also by his own son, Absalom, who was attempting to kill him and fully wrestle power from David for himself. As a result, David lived in caves and even pretended to be crazy in order to live among the Philistines for a time. How could he honestly write, “I shall not want”. If I was in similar circumstances, I think I would have my “wanter” constantly ringing, how about you? So, he must not have been talking about material needs here. The admonition that God is the Good Shepherd carries with it much by way of assurance. Primarily, spiritual assurance however, not material. Jesus did not come to stop wars, end poverty or physical illness. God cares about all that no doubt, but He most cares about the spiritual well-being of the sheep. Jesus came to seek and save the lost. The big issue is our separation from God because of sin. The Good Shepherd cares about the big problems and needs. We shall not want spiritually if we choose to accept His provision for restoration in Christ. May we be found on that last day well fed and provided for, not in want.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. I love it! I love being submerged in peace and not being ‘in want’. It’s people who are ‘in want’ and ailing that try and fill their void with the most toxic stuff.

    You might like my latest blog, Comment me back if you will!
    http://theriverjordan.net/should-vs-can

    Jordan.

  2. Thank you for this post! continue seeking God!
    Your Daily Word

  3. By the way i just added you to my recommended sites. God bless and Thanks for the inspiration!

    Your Daily Word


Leave a Reply

Categories

