Posted by: bshelley | April 7, 2009

Being Perfected

potter-2

Today’s Verse: Philippians 1:6 For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. NASB

Far too many days seem to go two steps forward and one back. I suppose this is like one of those “glass half full/empty” personality checks. I should be glad that the net was one step forward. The apostle Paul says that Jesus started a good work in us and continues that perfecting until His return or we pass from this life. It is encouraging to me to know that God Himself is taking a personal interest in my perfecting. I remain a far way from that goal, but I can also look back and see how much progress He has made in my life. The steps forward are all Him. The steps backward are all me. I am so very thankful that even when I must seem like dead weight He must drag toward the goal, that He persists. This verse is in the form of a promise. It says that we can be “confident” that He is doing this work in us. What a wonderful thing to really know. Our part in the equation is implied, but we must certainly know that we have a responsibility to be “in Him”. That is, to be in a right relationship with Him as prescribed in scripture. If we follow Him, He will continue to perfect us more and more until we are at last His likeness. What greater goal do we work towards than to glorify God with our very lives by becoming His image of love to a world in desperate need?

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. I so agree! I’m declaring it God is not done with me yet. As they usually say if you’re not the winner yet, the game’s not over coz we have a victorious God!

    -Your Daily Word


Leave a Reply

Categories

