Posted by: bshelley | March 30, 2009

R U complete in Christ?

complete

Today’s Verse: Colossians 1:28 We proclaim Him, admonishing every man and teaching every man with all wisdom, so that we may present every man complete in Christ. NASB

I don’t know about you, but some days I feel a bit more “complete” than others. There are many days when I think I sort of have it all down and in practice in my life. Then there are the days when I just feel discombobulated, befuddled and generally out of sync with God’s will. The obvious goal the apostle Paul is discussing here is that we all need to be taught and even admonished to Christ’s likeness in our walk. We are taught by God’s word. So, whether it is through our personal study or by means of sitting at the feet of gifted teachers, we learn. Our responsibility is to be open to the teaching and then to put it into practice in our lives. That’s where the breakdown happens. It is easy to sit in a classroom or pew and hear what we are to do, but integrating the likeness of Christ into our daily lives requires discipline. I admit that I tend to be discipline challenged especially in some specific areas of my life. We shan’t digress into my personal issues here, but I feel safe in saying that we all have those blind spots in our lives where we just don’t make the hand-off between what we “know” and what we “do”. Intentional or no, it is this place in our spiritual walk that we desperately need each other and God to point out what we conveniently “miss”. Lord, it is our desire to be complete in Christ. Please put loving brothers and sisters in our lives that can help us to see the places where we fall short that we may become more Christ-like. Shine your light on the dark corners of our heart that we might see where we must grow. Amen.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Thanks Bryan, I love coming here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

