Posted by: bshelley | March 20, 2009

Nevertheless

giving

Today’s Verse: Philippians 4:13-14 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. Nevertheless, you have done well to share with me in my affliction. NASB

It is interesting to me to all of a sudden have my eyes opened to the pairing of these two verses. I have verse 13 highlighted in my Bible, and as a result, verse 14 had remained invisible up against the more famous of the two. I have repeated verse 13 many, many times in struggle and in times of offering comfort to others. Yet, I have typically stopped there in my reading. Paul is making an important statement it seems to me about our responsibility and role in each others lives in verse 14 that we must see. Yes, God can strengthen us to do all things. That is a clear promise. It is key here to see that God also uses us in ministry one to the other. It is certainly appropriate to pray that God would protect and provide for others in times of need and struggle. It is not appropriate for us to ask God to do it all and then wait to see what He does. When we see a need, we should strive to meet it just as the Philippians were praised for doing. They prayed for Paul, yes. They also provided materially for his needs even knowing that God can and will provide. He provided through their faithful giving. Are we letting God strengthen others through our giving and personal ministry? Lord use us this day we pray, that we may nevertheless share with others in their affliction. Amen.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. This is Dave (simply ecclesia). I have a family/ministry site and was wondering if you wanted to trade links for the blogroll?

  2. Thanks, that would be a good thing I think. So is it the matthew1929 address?

  3. Yes it is. Thank you.

  4. I got you added to my blogroll. Thanks.

  5. Bryan, do you notice how we all take note of the Scriptures that we like and kind of gloss over the ones we really don’t want to deal with? I like the one that says I can do all things but who wants to share in affliction? Yet that is precisely what we are called to do!

    Affliction breaks open our hearts to allow more of Christ to work in us. It is never meant to destroy us but is a tool to transform us into the image of Christ. Our temporary pain is working something so much greater out in our lives. Since God can use all things for our good, can we trust him in all things?

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

  6. Likewise. Thanks for the information. God bless your support efforts and mission! Bryan


Leave a Reply

Categories

