Posted by: bshelley | March 19, 2009

To You I lift up my soul

trust

Today’s Verse: Psalm 143:8 Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning; For I trust in You; Teach me the way in which I should walk; For to You I lift up my soul. NASB

I love reading the Davidic Psalms. He is so gut-wrenchingly honest with God it is difficult to read them at times. Here, David is trying to resist going to a dark place of pessimism and despair that his circumstances seem to destine him. He uses words like “persecuted my soul”, “crushed my life to the ground”, “spirit is overwhelmed” and “heart is appalled within me”. We all face times like that sooner or later in our lives. David does not however let his countenance be crushed for long. This is the formula that we must remember as we struggle in difficult circumstances. David remembered back to good things God had done before. He forces himself to feel again the lovingkindnesses extended from a loving God. He calls out that God would speak to him in the morning. He pledges his trust to Him who is trustworthy. He asks God to guide his steps all the day. And then those precious words, “For to You I lift up my soul.” Can you sense within you the feelings he is expressing? Can you sense the joy as he lifts up his very soul to God. What refreshing God will give those who would approach Him with such trust. Have you raised up your soul to God lately? It is good.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. I sure agree with the way you characterized David as the bounce back king. That is so much easier said than done. But, you certainly highlighted the key to bouncing back in your blog title and the last part of the given verse. Getting to that point after life has twisted on a person is so hard without that final realization that some of life’s depths don’t have bootstraps for us to pull ourselves up by.

    Nicely written. I come to this site often because you instruct well. Whatever that stricter judgment is, you are not in danger of. Keep the faith.

  2. Thanks David. We are in hopes of seeing you on our upcoming Texas visit. We just celebrated Debby’s 50th birthday yesterday. We had a great time out for dinner with the kids. God bless.

  3. Bryan, thanks for your comment on my blog. I answered you there. And thanks for this devotional! It is just what God has been teaching me, and how He told me to write today! That’s just awesome how God speaks to us through different people! Thanks for letting Him use you! Blessings, Jenny


Leave a Reply

Categories

