Posted by: bshelley | March 18, 2009

Always with the Lord

clouds-form-the-ground

Today’s Verse: 1 Thessalonians 4:17 Then we who are alive and remain will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, so that we shall always be with the Lord. NASB

There is often discussion about exactly what happens when we die as Christians. Do we go straight to be in God’s presence? Do we go into some sort of soul sleep until His return? To be honest, I don’t have a firm scriptural grip on this one. Likely because of what I do know, I don’t really worry about what I can’t discern clearly from the scripture on this one. What I do know is that God has promised us as His children an eternity in His presence. There is a gap in my understanding between Jesus’ promise to the thief on the cross that he would be in Paradise with Christ that very day and what we see in this verse. It frankly doesn’t make a bit of difference to me in how I live each day for the Lord in this life. Nor do I think I will know the difference as I travel from this life to that promise of eternity. What I really love about this verse is the wonderful promise to hold on to at the end. “We shall always be with the Lord.” What an amazing and hopeful assurance we have in that simple statement. We will have the privilege of His presence from here on. Come soon, Lord Jesus. …but then I think, tarry for just a bit longer that we might share the good news with just a few more. What a day of rejoicing that will be!

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Really good there is always different ways many explain scripture but I like you believe I will forever be with the Lord,and that’s all that matters and yes hope & pray for many more to be saved.
    Numbers 6:24~26


Leave a Reply

Categories

