Posted by: bshelley | March 12, 2009

Stricter Judgment

bryan-woodward-park

Today’s Verse: James 3:1 Let not many of you become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we will incur a stricter judgment. NASB

I absolutely live to teach and minister. It is what I am gifted to do and love doing. The feedback I get from classes is generally very positive and encouraging. All good signs that I am doing what I am supposed to be doing in God’s kingdom. I do have to admit that this verse haunts me. I don’t know exactly what a “stricter judgment” means, but it sure better humble us who would dare to stand and teach! Being well read and thoroughly prepared are all part and parcel to good teaching. I’ll give you that there is necessarily some speaking talent that helps make presentations more palatable, but content is a much more important component always. There are some really great speakers out there today drawing large crowds of followers that make me just want to throw something at the TV when I hear what they are doing with verses snatched out of context and applied in ways that have nothing to do with the writer’s intent. I would prefer a poor speaker who exercises more care for God’s word to careless flamboyance. Regardless of who you are listening to or what you are teaching, always do it with God’s word in your lap. Know His word and you will be well grounded. Teach what the Bible says, not what you want it to say, and you will endure the stricter judgment you will face.

May God bless you as you seek His heart.

Responses

  1. When people put their trust and “followship” in your hands, it should have a sobering and humbling effect that drives you to God’s Word and His Spirit.

    I think it’s great that you are conscious of it and have God’s Word “on your lap”.

    Blessings!

  2. Thanks for the great advise. I am starting to believe this more and more.

    Here is a great new book that you might be interested in called Leadership as an Identity by Crawford W. Loritts Jr.

    He talks a lot about staying close to God and how it is more important than anything else.

    It’s good especially for those of us in Christian leadership but I would recommend the book to anybody who follows Christ.

  3. Also, congrats on a year of blogging at Seeking God’s Heart!


Leave a Reply

Categories

