Posted by: bshelley | February 19, 2009

Hasten Help!

anxiety

Today’s Verse: Psalm 38:22 Make haste to help me, O Lord, my salvation! NASB

Some occasions don’t lend themselves to long flowery prayers. I am the first to say that we do not spend enough time in the Lord’s presence in prayer. However, there are times when brevity and clarity are the need in the moment. I had such a time just several weeks ago during one of my bi-monthly chemo treatments. It was my eighth treatment and everything had gone well seven times before. All of a sudden, my body decided to have an allergic toxic reaction to the harsh chemo they were giving me intravenously. It came on so suddenly that I almost was not able to call for help. My head pounded, my hands turned bright red and burned and my chest seemingly was on fire resulting in barely being able to breath. It was a very scary time filled with pain, anxiety and short choppy “Help me Lord” prayers. Frankly, I really did not know if I was going to come out of that time alive. I love spending time in prayer praising God for His love and the beauty of His creation. There was not time for that in the clutches of such immediate anguish. God answered my prayer for deliverance and with the help of some excellent medical care I was able to be stabilized in about an hour. My heart knows the anguish of David’s plea, “Make haste to help me, O Lord, my salvation!” God hears our every prayer and He answers. What faith we can have when we settle that in our heart.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. My heart also knows the anguish of that plea.
    I thank God for His great love and care for us.
    I pray that He will see you safely through all the treatment you need and that you will be fully healed.
    God bless you!
    Jonie

  2. Praise God you are okay, Bryan! We are blessed to always have an intercessor who knows our needs and brings them to the Father.

    But prayers are sometimes spoken only by the heart. In Daniel 10, Daniel was praying when the Angel of the Lord appeared and said to him,
    “Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard”. That is a great truth to remember. Whatever your circumstance, if you cry out to God in whom you believe and trust and with a humble heart, seeking his help, you will be heard and he will answer. It does not matter if there are words as your heart reveals your thoughts! Sometimes just a simple, “Jesus!” does it for me.

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

  3. Your comments reminded me of the early church martyrs’prayers as they were many times tortured in front of others. Their prayers were for endurance to see the faith through to the end, but they assuredly had to be brief since flames or animals or torturous tools were encroaching on their lives.

    Your endurance is showing, brother, and God is getting the glory.


Leave a Reply

Categories

