Posted by: bshelley | February 6, 2009

Shout, joyfully

singing

Today’s Verse: Psalm 95:1 O come, let us sing for joy to the Lord, Let us shout joyfully to the rock of our salvation. NASB

What an inspirational and uplifting verse! Do you just stop sometimes and sing a joyful song to the Lord? I do. God appreciates the praise, albeit since I have a mental block for the second stanzas and following of most hymns, mine are more…let’s just say freelance, free form praise. It is from the heart for certain. If you truly get moved to praise during the course of your day, you will not only be blessing the Father, but also you will be blessed. I dare you to sing praise to God and not be uplifted and walk with a joyful smile on your face. You might ask what you would sing about if you are “composing” on-the-fly like I often do. Don’t worry, God loves your attention and praise and it is after all for an audience of one, not to get us on American Idol (thankfully). If you need a jump start, just turn to the Psalms and sing a couple of verses to the melody in your heart. God you are our salvation, You are our sufficiency, you are all we need for strength and comfort. I lift up praises to You, “the rock of our salvation.”  Everyone sing with me.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Excellent advice. I will certainly sing along with you. Tunes to the highest of heavens. Notes of healing rain. Scores of “Majesty.” Thousands of voices in chorus singing with Delerious’ words, “I take off this crown and fall at your feet – so holy!”

    It was certainly the song sung in private that raised me from my sinkhole. I will sing with you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

