Posted by: bshelley | January 26, 2009

Listen to Him!

beamclouds

Today’s Verse: Matthew 17: While he was still speaking, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and behold, a voice out of the cloud said, “This is My beloved Son, with whom I am well-pleased; listen to Him!” NASB

There have been many times in my life when looking back I wished I had listened to good advice. Most of the time I did try. There were those times unfortunately when I did not and had to live with the consequences. Once in the 80’s I decided it would be a great idea to buy a condo in Dallas. I asked my dad for his advice on the matter and he advised me to buy a house instead since, in his opinion, condos were not going to hold their value in that area. My reaction was to say thanks and discount his advice as old fashioned and not forward thinking. I bought the condo. Two years later, it was valued for about a third of what I paid for it. Good advice may seem stogy to the young and restless even when it is based on experience and solid facts. All too often I hear people say that what the Bible says is for another time and place, too old fashioned for today’s “all values are equal” world. They think that the wisdom given for how to lead a godly and purposeful life are stogy and too confining for today. My observation is that the only thing that has changed is technology. Man’s nature and needs have not changed one iota. We should look to God’s word for wisdom to meet the day today as it is from Him of whom God said, “Listen to Him!” We are well-advise to do just that.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Listening to the words of Jesus is easy. Obeying His words, not that’s hard! Worth it, but hard. However, it is the sign we love Him. Thanks for the reminder.

    Blessings,

    Jim

  2. Amen Jim. Thanks for the encouraging words.

  3. Great devotional, my friend.
    Thanks for the good word.

    Terry Michaels
    http://www.strategicbookpublishing.com/ThatIMayknowYou.html

  4. Hey, it is good to hear from a fellow Texan. We are currently California transplants from the Austin area. I look forward to looking at some of your work. Thanks for stopping by. Bryan


Leave a Reply

Categories

