Posted by: bshelley | January 26, 2009

Lessen the burden

weights

Today’s Verse: John 1: 29 The next day he saw Jesus coming to him and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!” NASB

When Jesus died on the cross, it was for all the sins of the world. It was atonement for those committed in Old Testament times retroactively and for those that would be committed after Calvary. As I thought about that this last week, a thought struck me with such force that it has occupied my heart and mind almost constantly ever since. It is odd that I had not put this together in my own mind previously even though I had all I needed to do so. I just had not thought of it in this particular way. Since Christ died for all my sins even before I was born and committed them, He died for ones even yet uncommitted. When I sin, I am increasing the sin that He bore on the cross. I cannot imagine the dark spiritual load He had to bear that day. All that sin. Thank God for His redemptive plan and for Christ Jesus’ faithfulness and self-sacrifice that brought it to fulfillment. Here’s the part I have been thinking about the last few days. If I sin, I increase the burden He already bore. However, as I go through my day making choices that include whether to live godly or to sin, I can choose God’s righteous ways and lighten the burden that Christ bore by not sinning. Every time I choose not to sin, I lighten the load my Savior bore for me. For my part, that is a very different way of thinking of the consequences of my sin. Let’s choose to lighten the load He so willingly bore on the cross by our righteous choices today!May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Hi Bryan, good thoughts on the cross of Christ.

    Isn’t is just amazing that Jesus loved us enough to come to earth and die for our sins KNOWING that most would reject him? The spotless Lamb became sin to atone for us so that we could have friendship with God. My finite mind cannot comprehend that kind of perfect love!

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

    http://www.time2standladies.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

