Posted by: bshelley | January 14, 2009

The Word, not Blackberries endures forever

blackberry

Today’s Verse: 1 Peter 1:25 “‘But the word of the Lord endures forever.” And this is the word which was preached to you.” NASB

My latest lust for electronics gizmos is for a Blackberry. I certainly don’t need one, but really cool people have them. I have come a long way since the days when pagers and cell phones were considered electronic leashes put on us by concerned managers desiring 24/7 accessibility. I do have two reservations which have thus far kept me from acting on this desire. First, they are expensive and I am still needing to pay off all the other stuff I lusted after previously. Secondly, technology changes so very fast that I figure about the time I buy one the whole deal will change and all the calendar items, phone numbers, addresses, birthdays and other important information it takes months to put in will be lost. So I wait for the next wave, and the next. One of my instructors at preaching school (we’ll call him Gerald P. for purposes here) still contends that this whole computer thing is just a passing fad. Certainly there seems to be no fixed point one can anchor to in all the change. The apostle Peter is encouraging us with a wonderful truth. That is that we may worry about the changes in technology, but as for God’s truth, it never changes. The truth that we based our decision on to give over our very lives and souls to Him “endures forever”. Good enough for me. I have neither buyer’s remorse nor a desire to move on to the next “new truth”. That’s a bit of an oxymoron anyway. Truth is unchanging. The word of truth which we heard and confessed is still and will always be true.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Helo. Very good observations. In fact the increasingly rapid advances in the technological fields reveal all the more, the temporal nature of this world. Here today and gone tomorrow. Kind of like us according to I Peter 1:23-25.

    have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. Excellent thoughts! Is it possible to get a Blackberry with enough memory that you can install Bible software on it. Then you’d really have something!

  3. Agreed. I imagine you could since I have e-sword on my IPAQ. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. It is reassuring that God and His Word never change. He is our Rock! Bless you, Bryan! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

