Posted by: bshelley | January 12, 2009

Devoted to Prayer

hands-raised

Today’s Verse: Colossians 4:2 “Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving;” NASB

I have the hardest time praying at night. The problem is that if I start a prayer late at night, I wake up in the morning and say “Amen”. I fall asleep every time. This is one of those things I suppose I could blame my mother for since she used to sing to me at bedtime and we’d say the “Now I lay me down to sleep” prayer and I was supposed to go to sleep. It still works. Kinda like when I hear running water, but we’ll not go there… At any rate, night prayers don’t work for me. Mornings are a bit of a challenge as well in that they tend to be hectic. So, what I am confessing is that finding a good time to pray regularly is tough for me. I tend to pray on and off all day. I pray by myself and with others during any day. I don’t think though what I do would be considered by Him to be devotion to prayer. That is one of my key goals for this year to work on. In this verse there is an intriguing idea that has eluded me in prior readings. God gives the cure for my lack of alertness in my prayers. He says you keep alert with an attitude of thanksgiving. If we truly stop and consider that profound solution, I believe that our prayer lives could well be transformed. I have long held that it is a sign of immaturity when prayers are focused on me, me , and me. My needs, my struggles, my (fill in the blank). On the other hand, when I focus on what blessings God grants every day, what a smile of spiritual contentment in my heart. Let’s pray and keep alert by being a little more thankful today and always.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Jesus said to his sleepy disciples in the garden,
    “Could you not keep watch for one hour?” He told them to WATCH and PRAY. I know we pray, but how do we watch. I guess all around us God is showing us things that he has for us to do. When you think about it, how many of us give God one hour a day? I mean quality, quiet time with Christ. I keep meaning to, but something always has a way of interrupting. Or do I just let myself be interrupted? That’s sad!

    Thanks Bryan for the great message and reminders to me of what really is important.

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

    http://www.time2standladies.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks so much for your comments. It is such an encouragement to have wonderful people like you stop by often and add to the devotional thoughts. God bless.

  3. I think perhaps your best praying is what you are already doing … thanking God throughout the day.

    Jesus taught us that praying should be done in private. I too find myself doing less and less ‘praying’ but more and more thankful and seeking God’s direction all day long.

    God told Moses, when he was confronted by the sea and with Pharaoh behind him, to quit whining (praying) and get on with the program … open up the sea and carry on!

    We too need to be more open to the Holy Spirit’s direction on an ongoing basis. God will often give a long term promise … but seldom more than a short agenda. That’s where our faith in the promise comes in and we carry on, and when we come to the fork in the road … we take it!

    The way I see it, anyway …

  4. I know it is difficult to find time to pray and seek God sincerely with work and hetic schedules. We all get caught up in daily routines that do not include God. Praying here and there when we can its not the answer. Make a COMMITMENT to seek Him. Make a sacrafice for your relationship with God, I ask you this: Is anything more important in your life than your relationship with God? Set the alarm clock for earlier at least 30 minutes. When it beeps get up and go to a table to spend time with God. Do not grab your Bible and stay in bed. Make a study guide using the Bible that you can follow each morning, like an assigment sheet in school. Before long if you miss a day you will be overwhelmed with guilt as you seek God. He will also notice your commitment. Pray for desire, strenght and passion from him to seek him and his will for you. When you truly seek God he then will truly Bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

