Posted by: bshelley | December 30, 2008

Yet I will exult

harvest

Today’s Verse: Habakkuk 3:18 Yet I will exult in the Lord, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation. NASB

I can remember as a child being lectured at the dinner table about all the starving children in China, or was it Africa, when I would turn up my nose at vegetables or some previously unknown meat dish my mother had prepared. The thought of how blessed we were to have a home to live in and more than plenty of food to eat was lost on my childish mind. How often do we look at our circumstances with the “glass half empty” mentality? I love this verse that the prophet Habakkuk wrote to the Lord. In verse 17 he leads into this thought saying that even if the fig tree does not blossom, there is no fruit on the vine, no yield of olives, the fields produce no food and the flocks wander off he would still “exult in the Lord” and “rejoice in the God of his salvation”. Are we counting blessings today or turning¬†noses up at what our loving heavenly Father has provided? We praise You Lord in lean or in plenty for Your love and presence is sustenance enough for the day.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. What a great passage. Thanks brother for the reminder to gratitude for God’s overwhelming goodness and faithfulness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

