Posted by: bshelley | December 19, 2008

Guard the Treasure

bank-vault

Today’s Verse: 2 Timothy 1:14 Guard, through the Holy Spirit who dwells in us, the treasure which has been entrusted to you.  NASB

The context for this verse tells us that the “treasure” is clearly God’s word (v.13). I wonder sometimes if people really “treasure” it. We have a lost and found bin just for Bibles at our church building. It is always full. Maybe it is because I have years of study notes in my Bible, but if I can’t locate it every morning, I begin to panic. If I seek Him, God leads me every day in study and better understanding of His word and how to apply it to my life. What greater treasure could there be than the very words of our God and Creator? But just knowing where your Bible is located is not Paul’s point. It is in our treasuring of God’s word manifest in hearts and lives transformed by His Spirit daily that the value we place on it is truly revealed. We treasure God’s word by letting it make us ever more into Christ’s likeness from the inside out.

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. Nicely put. It’s not just knowing where your Bible is located is not Paul’s point. It’s always the Bible we see in others’ lives that makes us aware of the presence of God’s spirit. Jesus made the same point when he said that the kingdom was not here or there, but inside of us. And I love telling you that when life seems to have had you down, you have been so faithful to dispense the Master’s teachings.

    I was surprised to read the note about buying the books. I hope you enjoy them. I also received Debbie’s e-mail about your recent doctor’s visit. There is nothing like good news to encourage the war-worn spirit. I am very thankful that you received such good news.

  2. Treasure! Ah yes. Oh the wonder of God’s goodness that He has given such a treasure to us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

