Posted by: bshelley | November 21, 2008

Addressing God

rainbow-and-bird

Today’s Verse: 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 Blessed be the God and the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. NASB

I really love all the devotional studies by Cassandra Martin. She has a series of studies called  Women Opening the Word. My favorite is the one on prayer. She has an acrostic in it for prayer. P- is for praise God for who He is and what He has done, R- is asking God to reflect back to us areas we need to grow more Christ-like. A- is for asking in intercession for others and for our needs. Y- is for yielding to His will, not our own to be done. I find this very helpful since too much of the time, I dive straight into the ask mode. Maybe like me sometimes you struggle with the praise God part. Not that I don’t know how, but it just seems too repetitive at times with words like magnificent and marvelous and wonderful. All are true, but I would like to be able to use a broader vocabulary when addressing my Father. A dear friend from Lubbock, Texas sent me an encouraging message which included today’s verse at the close. It seems to me to be a beautiful way to address my God and Father. The thoughts contained in it are certainly near and dear to my heart these days and as a result ought to be central to what I would want to praise Him for when I enter His presence.

Blessed are you Father who gave His only Son as a sacrifice for my sins. Blessed are you Father because you are the giver of all mercies and comfort. Blessed are You for comforting me in my affliction. Blessed are you for the calling to give that same comfort to those around us who also are afflicted and in need of comfort. Show me how I can be more like my Lord and Savior Jesus this day. I pray You heal those apart from health and provide for my needs and those of my family and readers today. Lord, as always, I seek only that Your perfect and loving will be done and that mine would be one with Yours. Amen

May God bless your heart as you seek His.

Responses

  1. […] the rest of this superb post right here No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

