Posted by: bshelley | October 27, 2008

Why do we hunger?

Today’s Verse: John 6:35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in me will never thirst.” NASB

There are so many eating disorders that plague people these days. They have a variety of names and traits associated with them. Mine happens to be seefooditis. I see tasty foods (tasty is defined loosely as anything except mustard/turnip greens) and generally abandon all resistance to sound judgment about need vs. want and dig in. You might have heard that I am a big guy. They don’t mean magnanimous. As I meditate on the verse for today, I think about a comparison between physical food and spiritual food. Jesus was responding to taunting from the ever present crowd of skeptics wanting to know how come He was not providing them with more food every day “like Moses”. Jesus’ response to the obvious error in their thinking is far better than I could come up with in verses 26-40. The question in my heart though is similar. It is not that I want Him to feed me physical food each day, although He has always provided. My question is, when I drop all pretense, do I hunger for the spiritual food He offers up with the same vigor as I do physical food? When I get up on the spiritual scales, am I a big guy? If there were charts for such things, how would my spiritual substance rate on the chart given my spiritual age and capacity? The fact that I deep down do not really want to know the answer to that question is answer enough in itself. Have you thought about it like that? Do we more resemble spiritual ninety pound weaklings or the spiritually fit disciples we are to grow into? That describes both ends of the scale and most of us fall somewhere in between the two. I plan on spending some time today asking God to reveal to me not only my spiritual weight, but also plead for His guidance and strength to help me with a spiritual fitness plan. I could do way worse than to have God as my personal spiritual fitness trainer. I suspect that the plan will include things like more time spent in His presence in prayer, more time spent in His word and more of my day spent focused on seeking His will instead of mine. If I hungered for the bread Jesus offers more than physical food, how “big” might I be? I suspect the measurement is in depth, not breadth. God’s ways are always better. I seek Your sustenance for my spirit this day, my Lord and Savior.

Responses

  1. Hi Bryan:

    This is an excellent article you’ve written and I have taken the liberty of copying it for our little congregation in Dos Palos. Many of us also suffer from seefooditis, as well as being mal-nourished spiritually.

    Have a wonderful week, and may our Lord bless you and your ministry beyond your dreams!

    GV


Leave a Reply

Categories

