Posted by: bshelley | October 21, 2008

Anxiety or Joy?

Today’s Verse: 1 Peter 5:6-7 Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. NASB

Letting go and letting God has been the most challenging areas in my Christian walk. Too much worldly learning like “If you want it done right…do it yourself.” All too often, in my attempts to give burdens over to God, I look down and observe my white-knuckled grip still clinging to my cares. This inability to truly let go leads to a self examination of whether I truly believe what I profess or not. That is, that God is faithful. His offer to carry our cares and burdens for us is not an empty offer, but rather the key to joyful living in the here and now. By not letting go and letting anxiety and cares rule our lives, we miss hours, days and weeks, for some, years of freedom to serve with carefree and trusting hearts. In my current circumstance, I have thankfully found that I have completely and absolutely ceded over to Him all control. Possibly it is because I ran into something so big and beyond any expertise I might muster that it was easier. However, I could have chosen anxiety and the burden of the troubles to have been my clinging still. My heart is joyful and my burden is so light it is an amazing thing. People who know what is going on with my cancer are amazed that they see me and I am joyful and full of life. Why not? God is in control and He only works in my life for the good. So whether the days ahead prove difficult or easy, He is in control and I spend my time praising and thanking Him for His loving care regardless of good days or bad. I am sure as I go through this life that there will be times again where I would be tempted to carry the load myself, but prayerfully I hope that the lessons learned in the crucible of this current struggle will be the reminder that there is so much more joy to be had trusting not just some, but all to Him who is faithful. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

