Posted by: bshelley | October 7, 2008

Do all things

Today’s Verse: Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. NASB

I needed to be reminded of this today. Some days just seem to come with more than their fair share of dark clouds. We have been barraged with saddening news from several fronts in this one. Sometimes you just wonder if you can take any more. For my part, I am feeling great especially considering it is my second day of chemotherapy. When I got to the office to check email I found a brief note from my brother letting me know that my Uncle Ben had died suddenly. He was the last of the six Shelley boys from west Texas. That leaves me as the oldest male in the family rather suddenly. An odd thought. He will be missed. Then after reading a rather positive medical update from a dear friend, whose son and daughter-in-law were hospitalized following a serious motorcycle accident, the mood suddenly shifted to a punch in the gut with a much shorter email that arrived while I was finishing reading the first reporting that the son had suddenly died. How do you walk through days like this? Certainly this verse is very timely because it is only in God’s strength that we can do anything. It is in times like these that I am so thankful that God carries us when we lose the physical and spiritual strength to walk on our own. So, as much pain as there is at losses like these, we can do what must be done in Him and His strength. That is sufficient for today.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-philippians-4_13

Responses

  1. Thanks and God Bless

  2. Bryan,

    I am so sorry to hear about your Uncle Ben and your friend’s son, Mike. These are, indeed, trying times and only God can provide what we need when are hearts are breaking. You are all in my prayers.

    JoAnn


Leave a Reply

Categories

