Posted by: bshelley | October 3, 2008

Nothing too difficult

Today’s Verse: Jeremiah 32:27 Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh; is anything too difficult for me? NASB

Well, God is obviously posing a rhetorical question. He is the creator of all things. Given that as a context, there is absolutely nothing too difficult for Him is there? I am so thankful for that assurance these days. I actually had some dear friends in west Texas send me an e-card this week with today’s verse in it and I have been looking for an opportune time to use it. At the behest of several readers and friends, I would like to give you some context from my life right now to get a perspective on my latest devotional thoughts. Frankly, I feel that those of the last couple of weeks have been the very best in the two years I have been writing. Circumstances are heavily influencing my heart and writing. Two weeks ago, I was put in the hospital for blood clots in my lungs and breathing problems. As they searched for the answer as to why a “young” guy like me would be having such problems they discovered some cancer-like nodules in my lungs, a lemon sized malignancy in my liver and removed several malignancies from my colon which seemed to be the source. Not the kind of news any of us want to receive. This week has been a lot of preparatory work including baseline scans and the installation of ports to inject the chemo. My chemo treatments begin this next Monday and will last for six months. Please forgive in advance if there are days when I am unable to send out a devotional. Frankly, this is the spiritual highlight of my day and I will strive to continue to search the scriptures and write on a regular basis. Your prayers and encouraging notes are such a boost to us and we are so touched by all our brothers and sisters in Christ who are supporting us. I have no intention of turning this into my cancer experience blog, but rather to see even deeper into God’s providential care for us all. May God give you a real sense of His presence in your life as He has in mine.

Lord You are faithful. You are there to comfort and walk with us through difficult days and I praise You for Your lovingkindness. I pray that through these difficult circumstances that faith will be increased and my dependence on Your will to be done in and through my life will be witness and glory to Your name. I have fallen completely into Your arms and care, on You I depend. Amen.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-jeremiah-32_27

Leave a Reply

Categories

