Posted by: bshelley | October 2, 2008

Sing to Him a song

Today’s Verse: Psalm 96:2 Sing to the Lord, bless His name; proclaim good tidings of His salvation from day to day. NASB

I have the hardest time trying to remember the lyrics to songs. The melody is usually not the problem, just the words. I start off ok, but I don’t get very far before the la, la la’s and dum de do’s creep in to fill the lyric gaps. Things tend to get jumbled up in my head rather than remaining in place in an orderly fashion. More like a stew than a file cabinet. A lot of times, my songs are really bits of verses and prayerful thoughts praising God for His goodness, mercy and boundless provision. They are certainly songs that only a loving Father can appreciate. I sing them anyway because the love I have in my heart for Him is busting at the seams demanding to get out somehow. What a marvelous act to sing praises to God for who He is and what He has done. You cannot begin a day with praises on your lips and not be wearing a smile regardless of circumstances. The heart song itself is a blessing back to us even as we lift up praise. He blesses me in the process of my meager attempts to describe in simple song what He means to my life. It is in these moments that I sense His heart and closeness more that any other. Just as you will never see my granddaughter’s artistic “masterpieces” in the museum, my little praises and small lyrics will never find their way to the charts. Yet, because they are meant to please only an audience of one, the love expressed communicates it all. Each one is indeed a simple masterpiece filled with love expressed the best we know how. Lift up a simple song of praise and thanksgiving to Him today. Love and be loved.

Thank you Lord for Your smile and love I know when my feeble efforts lift up melody and heartfelt worship to You for who You are. I sing to you alone for You alone are worthy of praise. Amen.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-psalm-96_2

Leave a Reply

Categories

