Posted by: bshelley | September 29, 2008

Do so as one

Today’s Verse: 1 Peter 4:11 Whoever speaks, is to do so as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen. NASB

Like most of us I suspect, I lose the focus that in everything I am to be glorifying God. There are times when I give in to weariness and impatience and say and do things which I would prefer God not be watching. Yet there He is. That recognition is frankly a comfort rather than an imposition which some might think. I want Him right there. I can deal with the shame and embarrassment for having fallen short of His best and agree with Him that I need His strength in my heart to be able to strive ever towards Christ’s likeness. Too often I have almost convinced myself that I might be about to arrive near that goal, and then, I realize how truly far away I remain. If it were only a straight path up that mountain. Rather for me, it has been a winding path sometimes heading straight for the peak and again at others I find myself in a hairpin turn stumbling back down grade. How is it that we become so easily distracted? The grail in the microwave business is to isolate pure signal in all the noise. My filters are all too often open a bit too wide and allow in so much noise from the news, petty problems and the like that I lose the purity of God’s word and best for me. I take my eyes and ears off the target and stray away from the one relationship in this life on which we can always depend for strength and truth. Of course when that happens, we weave. As one of God’s spokesmen, I pray I never lose the immediacy of the responsibility to speak His words and not my own. As His servant, I must strive in His strength lest I fail in my own. In all the many things I will face today, my thoughts must be of how I can bring glory to Him through their very doing. It is good to pause and be reminded whose we are and who it is we woke up this morning to serve.

Thank You Lord for Your words that bring life and direction to my life. Help me to let the focus of all that I do be to glorify Your name. Use me this day in Your service. Amen.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-1-peter-4_11

Leave a Reply

Categories

