Posted by: bshelley | September 24, 2008

Mold me how You will

Today’s Verse: Romans 9:20 On the contrary, who are you, O man, who answers back to God? The thing molded will not say to the molder, “Why did you make me like this,” will it? NASB

There are moments in every life when we might look up to the heavens and seek answers to such questions as to why things are happening to us. Some would even dare to shake clenched fists at the sky in an expression of intense anger and bewilderment at a negative turn of circumstances. It is such an immense comfort to me to know that God knew me even before I was born. He knew I would sin and rebel against His best for my life, yet even before I drew my first breath He provided His Son as sacrifice for my sin so that which is eternal in me might live in His marvelous presence forever. He grants me free will to choose even knowing that I would choose the wrong way more than once in my pilgrimage. He is the God of second chances. He is the loving heavenly Father who above all else desires only the best for me. When one finds themselves in the midst of battle, it is difficult to see above the immediacy of the fray to the larger scene that God has set clearly before Him. My experience is that it is only in careful reflection some period of time down the path, possibly at the next hilltop, that we can get vantage to see clearly His hand molding and making us in His perfect will. It is faith in His faithfulness that carries the day. For every time I trust Him I find that He has already been at work preparing the way, even though it may at times be through some rather rocky places. Rather than rejecting His molding of my life, I choose to thank Him for making me like this. He knows what will come and I have faith in Him.

Father, mold me and make me however you will. I am grateful clay in Your loving hands. Amen

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-romans-9_20

Responses

  1. Dear Brian,

    Occasionally I think about what my greatest fear is, and my answer is always “cancer”. Already I am so encouraged and blessed by how you are dealing with this. So many people will be comforted and strengthened by your example. Thank you for loving our Father and for having this complete faith in His love, strength and provision, and for your willingness to share this with us.

    Praying for you and yours,
    Barb Smith

  2. Thank you so much for te encouragement. We are actually looking forward to seeing what God is up to in all this. There are many answers to prayer already and we are humbled by all the prayers being lifted up on our behalf. Thank you so much. Tell all our wonderful SIBI family hello. Your brother in Christ, Bryan

  3. I know that we have not met but I want you to know that you are an inspiration to me. As a cancer survivor I know firsthand what it is like to go through something so horrible. I believe that God allowed cancer in my life. I have to say it is the best worst thing that has ever happened to me. God knows that it was the cancer that allowed me to seek him with all of my heart. It ‘s our responsibility how we respond to it. I see how you are responding. What an awesome Christian example you are. Hold on brother God is going to use you in bigger ways than he has in the past!


Leave a Reply

Categories

