Posted by: bshelley | August 25, 2008

Not Disappointed

Today’s Verse: Romans 10:11 For the Scripture says, “Whoever believes in Him will not be disappointed.” NASB

People disappoint. I try to have high expectations for people and tend to readily extend trust. That has a tendency to make me overly optimistic about people’s willingness to be or do what it is they have committed to, but I vehemently resist pessimism. Because I am in Christ, I know that He is working all things out for good and that He can be trusted in that implicitly. Faith in His faithfulness, optimism about Him being who He promises and knowing that He is not going to turn on you when it is not convenient to persist in His commitments is foundational to living in a fallen world with any hope. Friends fade, leaders fail and loved ones do not live up to your aspirations for them. How do we not fall victim to a dark view of the human condition even in the body? When I receive that slap in the face, a knife in the back, am left standing and waiting for one who has conveniently forgotten a commitment made, where am I to look? To be fair, I have certainly dished out a heaping portion of disappoints to others in my life. I have attempted to reconcile that or to make it up where possible. At times like these, when people would call you liar or misinterpret your motives and react accordingly, there is but one source of solace. There is only one pure source of light and optimism. It is in Christ and Him alone that we can trust our heart and our spirit. I love this scripture God led me to today. For if I place my trust, belief and obedience in Him and to Him, I will not be disappointed. All other concerns fade to mist when I internalize that unshakable truth. I can hand over all my hurts and concerns and He will bear the burden. I can know, nothing doubting, that He is at work and will carry the day if I focus on Him and serving Him.

Thank you Lord that my belief, faith and trust in You is never misplaced. Help me to return to the day healed and able to be optimistic again because of You. You never disappoint. Amen

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-romans-10_11

Responses

  1. I needed your post today. I too, have a tendency to believe only the good about people and, as a result, have been deeply hurt at times. I wouldn’t want to be any other way, however, I’ll take my lumps and scars any day to being a pessimist. As usual, a thought provoking post! Thanks, brother!

  2. Thank you for your post today. I enjoyed it. Please visit my site, I have a surprise for you. đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

