Posted by: bshelley | August 19, 2008

Repitition, Repitition, Repitition

Today’s Verse: Philippians 3:1 Finally, my brethren, rejoice in the Lord. To write the same things again is no trouble to me, and it is a safeguard for you. NASB

My wife loves to tell the story of one of the grandkids after noting her father reading from his Bible again and again asked, “Grandpa, how come you keep reading the same thing over and over?” His response was a loving laugh and the simple explanation, “Well child, every time I open it up I see something new.” I have certainly found that to be true. Oh, not some “new truth” that has never been seen before by others, but a new insight or finer appreciation for His word and its subtle combination of being simple and complex at the same time. As I read verses and chase a thought through the Bible, I am struck with God’s consistency in His word. I have learned that when faced with questions concerning verses that do not seem to be consistent, that if I just study more I find it was my understanding that was clouded, not God’s. His word is more beautiful and precious the more you gaze and meditate on its detail. Every time I pick up my Bible and read, God opens up some verse for me like a beautiful blossom that was just waiting for me to pass that way to reveal its beauty. The Bible is not a book that we read, find out the ending and put on a shelf. Because God speaks to us through His word, there is power in this book. We should never tire of reading or teaching from its unshakable truth. To read “the same things again is no trouble to me.” It is a discipline, a discovery and a delight…over and over. Thank you Father.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-philippians-3_1

Leave a Reply

Categories

