Posted by: bshelley | August 11, 2008

Sake of My Brethren

Today’s Verse: Romans 9:3 For I wish that I myself were accursed, separated from Christ for the sake of my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh. NASB

What would you give that others might be saved? I can hardly bring myself to read the apostle Paul’s words as he says he would be willing to trade his own salvation if it meant that his Jewish brothers might be saved. I have often contemplated whether I would be truly willing to forfeit my life that others might live, but never my salvation. That is such an over the top thing to declare. There is nothing I hold dearer in my life than my relationship to Jesus and the assurance of my salvation. Frankly, my stomach is wrenched even as I type these words at the thought of losing, or giving that up for any cause. Sure I could sit here and cavalierly declare that for this person or group I would give over my salvation as a trade for theirs, but the truth is I would not. I will give all my worldly goods, all my health and even my life to Christ and His cause…but not my salvation. How about you? I think this is an important consideration on two levels. One we need to be reminded of how precious our assurance of salvation is to us. Thank You Lord. Secondly, we need to know how much Paul’s heart and spirit literally ached for the lost. In his case, so much that he would be willing to give eternity as a trade. We are not called to that, but we do need a deeper commitment and understanding of how lost and doomed the lost really are. We need a renewed commitment to reach out to all and sow the seeds of the message of God’s love and grace as if their lives depended on it. They do. I had a friend give a very disturbing analogy one time in a sermon. He likened our complacency about sharing the gospel to being firemen who are standing outside a burning building full of people refusing to lift a finger to do anything to aid their plight. We are not called to trade away our salvation, but we are called to spread the good news and make disciples. Will we stand by while the building burns and souls are lost? What will you sacrifice today to meet His call?

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-romans-9_3

Leave a Reply

Categories

