Posted by: bshelley | August 8, 2008

Broken Commitments

Today’s Verse: Mark 14:29 But Peter said to Him, “Even though all may fall away, yet I will not.” NASB

Never say never. How those words must have hung darkly in the air and in Peter’s heart as he failed his vow not just once, but three times. One of my dad’s sayings concerning someones word was that, “You could take his word to the bank.” For most, like Peter, they have good intentions but fall short of commitments at times. This might be from things both in and out of their control. Never the less, they fail to have bankable commitments. I have both fallen short of good intentions and have had to make up the difference for others who have done the same. What an empty place in the pit of Peter’s stomach and soul when, after his third failure to keep his commitment, his eyes met with Jesus’ (Luke 22:61). Verse 62 says he “wept bitterly.” Bitter indeed is the taste of unkept commitments. One can only imagine Peter’s emptiness at that moment. Yet, each of us fall short of our commitment to let Jesus be Lord over our life do we not? Do you remember the questions you answered as you gave your life to Jesus? “Yes, I want to have Jesus as Savior and Lord of my life.” I certainly think the apostle Paul understood as well as any the struggle to let go of fleshly desires and let Jesus reign in and through us. Peter certainly did. Have you tasted that bitter fruit of failure? Just as He restored Peter with a simple question and instruction, so does He meet us in our sorrow. In John 21:15-17 we see Jesus ask, “Do you love me?” He followed Peter’s affirmative response with, “Tend my sheep.” Desire not to hide from His face when you fail, but rather seek to reaffirm your love for Him and renew your service to Him.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-mark-14_29


Responses

  1. Good Post.

    I have two questions that I try to ask myself in the morning.

    What/Who do you love the most? and What Idols did I have yesterday?

    In my cell group I shared, humorously, one time that I thought the George Thoroughgood song “Who do you love” is a spiritual song since it makes you think about the question I just posed. 8-).


Leave a comment

Categories