Posted by: bshelley | July 31, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Today’s Verse: John 7:16 So Jesus answered them and said, “My teaching is not Mine, but His who sent Me.” NASB

I often get encouragement and compliments when I speak and for these devotional thoughts I do each week day. I really appreciate them very much and they give me extra fuel spiritually to keep at it. Frankly, it is a bit of a daunting task to sit down to a blank piece of paper (screen) each morning to decide what to write. Sometimes, like today it is a bit scary. What if today is the day after all this time that I can’t think of something to say? Some have written and asked how I come up with fresh ideas each day. I first open my Bible and begin reading and God is faithful to give me a verse and a thought each time I sit down and read His word. I never decide what to put in this space before opening His word. First I read. Sometimes it is for ten minutes, sometimes for an hour before He really has a specific scripture jump out and grab my thoughts. Then the writing begins. I just start writing down what I am given in my heart or mind for the day. It might be something serious like a doctrinal issue or it might be something related to a funny story it brings to mind. Going in, I never know. Quite often, when reading back over what I have just written, I am taken aback. Did I just write that? I am not talking about something like automatic writing or words inspired like scripture at the Holy Spirit’s urging. I do try faithfully to allow God to guide my thoughts and words as I seek to get across His message in a practical and real way. It has revolutionized the way I read scripture. I am letting God speak into my heart and hopefully into yours from His. We are to chew on His word and digest it to let it become more and more a part of us.  We are to ponder it to understand it better and to practically apply it to our walk with Him. I love hearing from you when one of the devotionals touches your heart as they do mine, but remember always that what I want to faithfully teach is from the Word of Him who sent my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. May God bless your heart today with and in His word. Open God’s word and let Him speak into your very soul. You will be refreshed.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-john-7_16

Responses

  1. Bryan, reading your devotional is part of my daily spiritual exercises. I know you are faithful to daily encouraging others and I feel the Holy spirit when I read your words. You are a blessing to all who visit here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

