Posted by: bshelley | July 29, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Today’s Verse: 2 Corinthians 4:5 For we do not preach ourselves but Christ Jesus as Lord, and ourselves as your bond-servants for Jesus sake. NASB

My wife has to remind me of this verse occasionally. I have a propensity to go off telling what I think are funny or interesting stories from my childhood. All too often they end with the statement, “Now does anyone remember what the point was I was trying to make?” Oops. Fortunately, it has been a while since this has happened, but this verse always reminds me to be prepared and focused on the task at hand when I enter the pulpit as God’s spokesman, not an entertainer. And, like home movies, my childhood and life experiences are best enjoyed or endured by immediate family and only the most faithful of friends. As Christians, we all need to be reminded from time to time of what our point is as disciples. The apostle Paul clearly is making this very point. We are not to be running around trying to get everyone to “look at me”, but rather to live and share Christ and God’s marvelous grace through Him. I heard a sermon some years ago that still haunts me because there was something really big missing from the basic tenant. To the best of my memory the sermon was called, “What you see is what you get Christianity”. Certain of the ideas had merit, but this approach to evangelism is far too passive. It just says that if I live my life in a “Christian” way, that people will naturally, or unnaturally be attracted to the difference and want to inquire as to why we are different. Certainly we are called to live ever more Christ-like lives, but He did not just sit still and wait for people to be attracted to Him. He was out there among them actively teaching and confronting wrong beliefs. So, if we are to be obedient to the call as His church to take the gospel message of salvation in Christ Jesus to the world, our country and our neighbors, we must “not preach ourselves but Christ Jesus”. We must leave our warm fuzzy Christian compounds and get out there amongst them with a purpose. Let His light shine through you as you seek opportunities to tell of the wonderful source of that Light.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-2-corinthians-4_5

Responses

  1. Absolutely! There is a lot of darkness in the world, and the light of the world needs vessels through which to shine. Shine on, my brother.

  2. Great post. stop by mine at spadinofamily.wordpress.com someday.

  3. Again, I am encouraged and convicted by your posts. God bless you, my brother.


Leave a Reply

Categories

