Posted by: bshelley | July 26, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Weekending

 

Today’s Verse: Philippians 4:11 “Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am.” NASB

 

The advertising people manage billions of dollars each year intent on convincing us that we need more and better stuff. There are even storage businesses where you can rent more space for your stuff. The message is obviously getting through. Covetousness is a sin. That’s what’s wrong with gambling…the lottery included! A wise man told me one time to live on 80% of what you make, give 10% to the church and save 10% and you would never want for any need. Do you find it difficult to rejoice when others are blessed materially? Do you find yourself asking, why not me? Maybe we need to be more like Paul and want and be satisfied with what we already have been blessed with and not be focused on what we still do not have (whether we need it or not).

Responses

  1. I have finally reached a point in my life where I feel like I have everything I need.. what a joyous way to live! Others may think I don’t have much materially, but, it’s so freeing to be able to not want… God bless you for your thought provoking post, Bryan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

