Posted by: bshelley | July 21, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Today’s Verse: John 8:43 “Why do you not understand what I am saying? It is because you cannot hear My word.” NASB

My wife and I are having an on again off again discussion about whether I should go and get my hearing checked or if she should. It is a bit of a toss up as to whether the loud rock and roll of the seventies or, heaven forbid, age is catching up with our ability to hear well. She is convinced that I have a distinct hearing loss that falls oddly enough with the frequency of her voice. For my part, I cannot imagine what she’s talking about… I admit to having difficulty to, as they say in the microwave business, separating the signal from the noise. Last night for instance, the TV was going on one side of me and the dishwasher on the other. She was trying to say something to me and I kept having to ask her to repeat herself. Frustrating for everyone. More times than not though, I suspect that my lack of good listening skills has more to do with this than not. I assume I know what she is going to say or I begin working on a response or solution mentally while she is still talking. If we have already decided what someone is going to say, it is much more difficult to hear them. Jesus was having a rather heated discussion with Jewish religious leaders here and accused them of just that problem. They had so made up their mind that they knew better than He what the truth was that it impaired them from hearing Jesus actually speaking truth. We need to always go to His word with an open mind ready to hear truth. If our spiritual ears are plugged up with noise of presupposition, we can very well miss what Jesus is saying to us. What if He is trying to get through to us on something we may not totally understand or have confused? Can we be open to let His word speak to us and accept it? Yes, it is difficult to turn off all the transmitters in our brain long enough to truly hear, but that is exactly what is necessary to be teachable. Let’s open our spiritual ears today and hear Him as maybe we have not in a long time. Lord, please bless us with a clearer understanding of Your truth as we set aside our religious presupposition and let You speak through Your word.

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-john-8_43

Leave a Reply

Categories

