Posted by: bshelley | July 1, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-genesis-28_12

Today’s Verse: Genesis 28:12 He had a dream, and behold, a ladder was set on the earth with its top reaching to heaven; and behold, the angels of God were ascending and descending on it. NASB

My childhood memory of Jacob’s ladder was the little song we learned to sing, “We are climbing Jacob’s ladder…” Remember it? As a kid, I had no idea what it meant, but it was fun to sing and I still remember some of it today. I like to be reminded of the fact that the whole Bible is the story of God’s redemptive plan for mankind. The Bible is much better understood when one can get a grip on that basic story line. “From Genesis to Maps”, the Bible is about redemption in Christ. It was such a revelation to me when that fact finally took hold in my mind. It was as if the lights finally came on for me. In the Bible, Jesus is all over the place! The Old Testament is the telling of His coming and its meaning for all who would come to accept Him. Here in this passage in Genesis we have Jacob’s famous dream about a ladder. Lest Jacob, or us, be confused about the vision’s meaning, God reveals the relevance to the seed promise immediately in verses 13-14. The Bible is about “The Seed”, Jesus. God gives Jacob a dream of a ladder with angels going up and down on it and then relates it to the seed promise as he renews the Abrahamic promise to him to bless all the nations through this seed line. He is telling of salvation to be visited upon the earth in human form that reconciliation to a loving God might be made available to all. Jesus makes the direct connection in the gospel of John.

And He said to him, “Truly, truly I say to you, you will see the heavens opened

and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.” John 1:51

Jesus is “Jacob’s ladder”. Jesus is the great High Priest representing man to God and the Great Prophet representing God to man.  That has to soak in a bit doesn’t it? We are indeed climbing Jacob’s ladder. What a beautiful picture of our relationship with God renewed in our Savior, and ladder, Christ Jesus. Praise God.

Responses

  1. Brian, you don’t know how grateful I am for the blessing to start my day by reading your blog. You are truly a man of God. Your words uplift, encourage and teach. I thank God for you.

  2. Thanks for teaching me today! I never heard it explained like that before. Sang the song….(‘every round goes higher, higher….’) and liked it too. But never understood it!
    LOVE the ‘Genesis to maps’ phrase too. :o)
    I am finally determined to read through the entire Bible, instead of bits and pieces. I’m about to start Ezra now–whew! Some of those OT books are (?).
    Once I am through it, I will go back with a commentary for illumination. Can you recommend a good one? Something to help connect the dots and explain the more difficult passages?
    Thanks again…..for your daily inspiration!

  3. I use a number of different commentaries, but Barnes is a good choice. It is available online for free. A resource I use a lot is e-sword. You can download a number of different Bible versions, commentaries and other resources for free. I will add a link right now to it on my Helpful Resources. One cool feature is that the KJV+ version has the Strong’s numbers right over the words. You can hover your cursor and see a quick definition from the Hebrew or Greek. Let me know what you think! As always, thanks for the encouragement. Bryan

  4. Dear anonymous, I pray God blesses your work in His kingdom today and always. Thanks. Bryan

  5. e-sword! Very cool—thanks!
    I am a ‘mac-girl’ though, so i can’t get the entire program. They do have some for us, so that’s good.
    It looks quite helpful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

