Posted by: bshelley | June 5, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Audio Version: seeking-gods-heart-1-john-2_28

Today’s Verse: 1 John 2:28 Now, little children, abide in Him, so that when He appears, we may have confidence and not shrink away from Him in shame at His coming. NASB

I am hopeful that Jesus will come back on a day when I am really on fire for Him. Those are times that I am sure that He would be so proud of me because my relationship with Him is so close that I just know He is right there beside me as I serve. When He asks if I have been feeding the hungry, clothing the needy and visiting those in prison, I would be ready with a hearty “Yes, Lord!” Maybe I’ll be lucky and He’ll come then. Unfortunately, there are also days when I am luke warm or even cold in my service. There are days when I don’t even read much from His word or spend much time with Him in prayer. When the verse says that we don’t want to feel shame at His coming, I know that feeling in my gut. There are times when I would certainly be ashamed at His coming because of my lack of obedience. There are days when I have a tough time loving those around me. There are far too many days when it is two steps forward and one back or worse. Thankfully, even on the days when I stumble backward, I get back up and take steps towards Him again guided by His word as my standard. There is a burning desire to try again and try harder. I seek His strength to renew mine. We have the promise of eternal life if we abide in Him. I might be at a loss for words giving a succinct definition if asked off- the- cuff to come up with a good one for what that means to abide, but I certainly know what it means in my heart of hearts. I know when I am abiding and when I am not. Thankfully, there is whole lot more abiding going on these days than in some days long past, but it is still a struggle when I attempt to do it in my own strength. That’s what I tend to forget to do. I forget to abide. That is to seek Him and His will every waking moment. I need to take one giant step out of the center circle of my life and let Christ abide there. Lord, I want to stand, arms raised in praise and adoration at Your return. Not in pride for what I have done, but with a thankful heart for what You have done in and through me. My prayer is that every day, I will be found abiding with You. I will know Your voice because I hear it every day. Abide in my life today; I cede the center of it to You.

Responses

  1. Abide! What a powerful word.
    I added my thoughts on my blog about that.
    Thanks for the reminder!!!

  2. Brian, It is so good to hear your voice and listen to your devotionals. It’s like having you over for coffee and visiting together. Hope all is well in CA and everyone is well.
    Love, your TEXAS cousin
    Linda


Leave a Reply

Categories

