Posted by: bshelley | May 28, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for May 28, 2008

Today’s Verse: Psalm 91:14 Because he has loved Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him securely on high, because he has known My name. NASB

A friend of mine called this verse to my attention this morning as I shared some struggles I was currently wrestling with in my work. It is interesting how sometimes we read but we do not see. Not spiritually any way. The verse is highlighted in blue, which means I have been here before. Unfortunately, my note in the margin simply says, “Example of inverted parallelism: A-B-B-A structure.” It is all too apparent that although my intellect was engaged the last time I passed this way, my heart was not. I had a quote in my in-box this morning that addresses this issue of reading with heart disengaged. It says, “Some read the Bible to learn and some read the Bible to hear from heaven.”- Andrew Murray. All too often I am guilty of the former. Being a student of the scriptures does not necessarily make one a disciple of Christ. My marginal note betrays which one I was at the point I wrote it. Today, I went to this verse with an open heart ready to be refreshed by God’s word. Because I came to hear from heaven, God spoke comfort and healing into my life. God promises that we need not fret over worldly matters since we have the security He alone can give. All this because we have given ourselves over to Him. He will deliver us. How easily I lose focus on Him and His will. I am adding to my notes next to this verse today. It now says, “When I place my trust in Him, I am secure.” That’s a message I needed to hear today. I pray your spirit is lifted as well.

Responses

  1. The 91st Psalm is one of my favorites. Thank you, Brian for helping me, once again, to focus me on my journey to gaining a closer relationship with God. May you have a blessed day! Oh, by the way, I love to highlight my bible also. Sometimes I’ll write comments in the margins and upon re-reading later, I’ll think, “Hmmm. That was a strange observation for that passage.” for me, it’s like watching myself grow and change.

  2. Its nice to start the day with this Psalm. Thank you,


Leave a Reply

Categories

