Posted by: bshelley | May 27, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for May 27, 2008

Today’s Verse: Romans 8:26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. NIV

Sometimes in a conversation someone will say something that just stops me mentally cold. They say something so unexpected that I have to just stop the mental presses and mentally regroup. It can be frustrating to people when they are expecting some kind of a response other than a blank stare as I try to regroup thoughts around this new paradigm and formulate a response. I suppose I could just say “sure” or the infamous “uh-huh” but I am really dealing with their comments, it just requires more thought than a smoothly flowing conversation allows. In prayer, there are times when my heart just has to do the talking. I am weighted down thinking about a situation and cannot muster the words to say mostly because I don’t know how to proceed. It is so comforting to know that the Holy Spirit is within me for those moments and can translate my random or bewildered thoughts into a plea to God for help, comfort or direction when I cannot bring the words together. He is able to piece the scrambled puzzle of my thoughts and feelings together into a coherent prayer even when I cannot. Sometimes it is just better to sit silently before God and let that happen. Have you done that lately? Most of us have not. Try it today and let the Holy Spirit that is within speak from your heart for you. You will experience a deeper level of communion with God in prayer and perhaps be refreshed and renewed that whatever it is that is stuck somewhere inside unable to make words is resolved. Thank You Lord that you help us with words even when we come into Your presence not knowing what to say. Touch hearts desirous of Your presence with Your love today.

Responses

  1. I am taking your ‘prayer’ with me to the woods now.
    What a comfort that He knows our hearts….without the words.
    Thanks so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

