Posted by: bshelley | May 19, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for May 19, 2008

Today’s Verse: Psalm 57:2 I will cry to God Most High, To God who accomplishes all things for me. NASB

What an amazing verse! I have been in an ongoing discussion with friends concerning what it means to “fear” God. That is, to have a healthy fear of God, as opposed to being scared to death of Him. I love how the Psalmist addresses God here. God Most High! That’s exactly the idea. Yes God is our loving Father, yet we need to be mindful of exactly who He is. All that said, it is the second line of the verse, however, that actually caused me to write this devotional. Is that how we see God? Do we look to God as the one “who accomplishes all things” for us? I am sorry, but I certainly pull up short on that one. It is not an easy admission, but I tend to hold God out of things until I need to call in the “big guns.” This tendency to ask God to be a part of things only after we have come to end of all our best efforts cheats us out of the kind of relationship which King David had with Him. What then is the fine balance between when we are to ask God and when He expects us to do it with what we already know? That’s the real problem then is it not? We have missed the real opportunity to be in what is to be a continual attitude of prayer when we are looking for when not to be. Still fuzzy? Well, what if our expectation was to be re-calibrated to where we talk to Him about everything and give Him the glory? It seems that this is the closer approximation to what is written here. For if God is to accomplish everything for me, it presupposes that He is an integral part of everything I am doing. O God Most High, let it be so in my life this day and always. Stretch me, use me.

 

Responses

  1. Dear Bryan,

    Your most recent entry on your blog is a message to me, particularly Psalm 57:2. Thank you for the posting, without your obedience, I would not have been reminded of His promise concerning me today, in that way – and I needed, I am treading on completely unfamiliar territory in business.

    GBU!
    Theresa Williams
    Keep scribing!

  2. New to the blog-world here. Love your site, and I see I have a lot of catching up to do! THANKS for your daily thoughts.
    Love this one today…our IDENTITY should be in Christ alone. He should be the center ‘coloring’ everything else that we are. And His strength is there for us to claim no matter how small the issue might be. (I’m still learning this!)
    Another related favorite verse of mine is Ephes. 3:20-21–“Now to Him who is able to do exceeding abundantly BEYOND all that we ask or think…to Him be the glory forever!” Pretty awesome, huh?
    Nina— http://fotofootprints.wordpress.com
    (and my site: http://www.back40fotos.com)


Leave a Reply

Categories

