Posted by: bshelley | May 16, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for May 16, 2008

Today’s Verse: Proverbs 14:17 A quick-tempered man acts foolishly, and a man of evil devices is hated. NASB

I just hate it when a verse jumps off the page and says, “Tag you’re it!” Normally I do fairly well on this, but it has not always been true that I controlled my temper. It is also true that if I let myself get tired or stressed, that then who knows what might come out of my mouth. Given, I am fully aware that if the heart is pure, only pure things flow from it. OK, so I’ll admit that I am not “there” yet. It is all too often that I respond in kind to what I perceive to be a verbal attack by someone else. I get defensive all too quickly all too often. Unfortunately, what comes out if I let myself get mentally cornered or sense attack, is I respond before I have a chance to rethink my words. If you have ever struggled with this, you know that the consequences are not ever positive. I am always so impressed with someone who has a serenity about them that comes from God’s peace in their heart. My observation is that their initial response seems to be to listen and ask questions to understand before they respond. I am usually coming up with my response while they are still talking. Not a good listening skill. I tend to think of what I do as a minister is make my living speaking. My nightmare is laryngitis. It is certainly worthy of some prayer and thought that the real job is more about listening. Maybe my job as husband, father and friend should be cast in the same way. To pour gasoline on a fire does nothing more to quench the flames than a satirical response, even in-kind, in a conversation does to communication. Maybe my focus, if I truly wish to avoid foolishness, ought to be to keep my ears open and listen. Listen to God more so that my heart is filled with His goodness and love. Listen more to others that I might love and not hurt. Lord, I pray that You would help me to remove the chip from my heart’s shoulder that I might not be found quick-tempered, but rather, Christ tempered. Hardened only to sin and never people. Amen.

Responses

  1. Thank you for your transparency and honesty.


Leave a Reply

Categories

