Posted by: bshelley | May 10, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for May 12, 2008

Today’s Verse: 3 John 11 Beloved, do not imitate what is evil, but what is good. The one who does good is of God; the one who does evil has not seen God. NASB

It would be very helpful if everything which is evil was clearly marked. That would be some helpful truth in advertising for sure. Some days I feel like I am being assaulted. You open the newspaper and there are the underwear ads. You turn on the TV and…well, you name it. You go to the grocery store to pick up some milk and there are all these magazines and tabloid papers with any number of bizarre things on the covers. Wouldn’t it be helpful to have some sort of warning buzzer that goes off in our head when we are about to see things we don’t want to see? It would help me a lot if I could preview what I am about to say before letting it come out of my mouth, kind of like a spell checker, except it would be an evil or insensitive checker. Because I have my relationship with Christ Jesus, I don’t worry about my salvation, but rather worry a bit about the salvation of others that might be hampered by my behavior. What is that which is evil anyway? It is that which is not of God. If that is the case, then I may have more to worry over than I thought. There are many days when I may be well into the day before asking God what He would have me to do, or not. Chances are high that if I am not working hard at serving God, that my flesh nature is ruling and that is not good. I joke around sometimes about the “evil Bryan” and how I killed him off a few years ago. It is not too far from the truth. Except that he is not really dead. I have to consciously and constantly keep focus on God’s ways in my life or the old nature gleefully eeks back in. Oh, not too obvious at first, but the slippery slope is steep and you can be way down it before you realize it. By keeping up good habits of daily Bible reading and time with God in prayer, we can inoculate ourselves. We tend to have a better sense of what is of Him and what we need to avoid if we are closer to Him throughout our day. Let’s decide to be imitators of Christ today and keep our focus on God and serving Him in righteousness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

