Posted by: bshelley | April 24, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for April 25, 2008

Today’s Verse: 2 Corinthians 2:9 For to this end also I wrote, so that I might put you to the test, whether you are obedient in all things. NASB

“Let’s put this thing into a bigger perspective.”, I might respond. After all, I am generally an obedient disciple. People seem to like me OK and I try to do my best at living like Christ. I might have a couple of blind spots, but in the main, I am doing pretty well, right? At our church we preach and learn about how sin is bad and God is good. We support some worthy things and people when someone draws our attention to a need. I often remember to ask, “What would Jesus do?” Admittedly, I don’t always remain exactly true to that, but I do keep trying to get close. We know some things are sinful that we do, but they do seem like small ones in the big scheme of things. Some people around us are doing some things that we are pretty sure God disapproves of, but we certainly don’t want to set ourselves up as the sin police, given our own less than perfect record. I wonder if all that kind of thinking haunted Paul? I seem to remember something about not having it all figured out and applied, but to follow his example as he followed Christ. In life and Christian living, we tend to develop this “close counts” mentality. Not that the saved are going to re-doom themselves to hell’s fire for one or two oversights or slip-ups, but our standards are slipping. We have slipped into a relativistic system of standards which do not reflect God’s standards as a straight edge, or plumb line as Amos put it. A good question to reflect on in our own hearts today is are we being “obedient in all things?” Obedient to which set of standards? Is it God’s, modified for modern times God’s, or some other hybrid? Let’s agree to agree on God’s standards. Let the chips fall where they may. Let us call sin, sin and then we can understand more clearly whether we are being true to God’s standard in “all” things. Tall order, but with God, nothing is impossible.

Responses

  1. Hey Bryan –

    I’m completely with you on this one! And I love that verse… Luke 1:37

    -cs
    http://chrisschellenberg.com/

  2. I agree. And there is now no condemnation…
    Our walk is the key…

    We are seeking to provide a place for Christians and others to express and/or learn about their/our faith in a setting conducive to healing Are we hypocrites? Maybe… But we try to keep our motives pure… We are endeavoring to raise money for our Discipleship ministry in order to reach out to the hurting and the homeless who could otherwise not afford help. And I’ll tell you the truth– money cannot buy the quality of help you receive at the Center of Hope. The methods are innovative, creative and beyond anything I had heretofor ever encountered… I simply cannot say enough good things about their program…


Leave a Reply

Categories

