Posted by: bshelley | April 9, 2008

Seeking God’s Heart- by Bryan Shelley

Entry for April 8, 2008

Today’s Verse: Colossians 1:13-14 For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. NASB

I am not sure as to why, but this verse made me think of Green Stamps. I don’t, in all honesty think of Green Stamps these days as much as I might have when I was a kid. For those of you of the younger set, it used to be one of the enticements grocery stores would offer to get return customers was Green Stamps or some other brand (I seem to remember Scotch Stamps as well). You got stamps every time you bought something and got more depending on the size of your purchase. You saved up whole books of stamps and took them to the redemption center and traded them for items from their catalog of prizes. I don’t remember one single thing my mother ever got with Green Stamps; I just remember it seemed to be a fun thing to do. Well Green Stamp redemption centers have gone the way of the Dodo now I suppose. In Christ, what is redemption? We say we have been redeemed and even sing about it. Like oft used “church” words sometimes we sort of know the idea, but would be a bit pressed to come up with a succinct definition. Well, we don’t have to wonder what Paul’s definition is since he offers it up in the same sentence. It is the forgiveness of sin. Christ, in His sinless righteousness, redeemed His life for ours. We are the prize He sought. I have often shared about the cross I carry in my pocket as a reminder of the price Jesus paid for my redemption. That’s how much we are worth. We are worth to God, the price of Christ’s life on a cross. We, who are His, should never suffer from self esteem issues should we? There were not in the entire world enough Green Stamps or acts of righteousness on my part to buy my forgiveness. “But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love…made us alive…in Christ Jesus.” (Eph 2:4-6) Thank you Lord for choosing to pay the price for my redemption. I pray that I live my life this day in a manner worthy of such a cost.

Responses

  1. Great post…that verse wrecks me every time I read it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

